Towards a Healthier Canada - 2017 Progress Report on Advancing the Federal / Provincial / Territorial Framework on Healthy Weights

Overview

Canada's Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers of Health/Healthy LivingFootnote * and Sport, Physical Activity and Recreation are pleased to present the third e-Report on progress on healthy weights in Canada, since the endorsement of Curbing Childhood Obesity: A F/P/T Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights (Framework) in 2010. This e-Report, entitled, Towards a Healthier Canada - 2017 Progress e-Report on Advancing the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Framework on Healthy Weights (e-Report), builds on the principles of the first two progress e-Report published in 2013, in that it aims to monitor and report on progress since the endorsement of the Framework. It provides an update of the most recently available data/information on the confirmed national set of indicators and childhood obesity trends since the endorsement of the Framework, where possible. The 2017 e-Report also features a focus on health inequalities and a narrative which serves as a complement to the data tables and infographic.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Québec shares the general objectives of this framework, but does not support a Canada-wide strategy in a field that falls under its jurisdiction. Québec remains solely responsible for the development, implementation and communication of programs to promote healthy lifestyles within its borders. However, the province intends to continue sharing information and best practices with other Canadian governments.

Return to footnote * referrer

Timeline - building momentum

With the endorsement of the Framework in 2010, Federal, Provincial and Territorial governments are working together, and with other sectors, to promote health, reduce disparities and to help create the conditions that will help children, youth and their families live healthier lifestyles. Key milestones of these efforts to date are profiled in the timeline below.

Endorsement of Declaration on Prevention and Promotion (Declaration):

Canada’s Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers of Health and/or Health Promotion/Healthy Living* endorsed the Declaration, presenting a shared vision for working together, and with others, to make the promotion of health and the prevention of disease, disability and injury a priority for action.

Creating a Healthier Canada: Making Prevention a Priority

Endorsement of Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights (Framework):

Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers of Health and/or Health Promotion/Healthy Living* endorsed the Framework as the first tangible action arising from the Declaration, making childhood obesity (and healthy weights) a priority.

Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights

Endorsement of Actions Taken and Future Directions 2011: Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights (Report):

The Report lays out recommendations and key areas of action that governments can take to support healthy weights and reduce childhood obesity.

Actions Taken and Future Directions 2011

Endorsement of Declaration and Framework by F/P/T Ministers responsible for Sport, Physical Activity and Recreation:

In 2011, Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers responsible for Sport, Physical Activity and Recreation* also endorsed the Declaration and Framework.

2012 Summit on Healthy Weights:

The purpose of the Summit was to advance efforts in building partnerships across sectors. A total of 86 multi-sectoral stakeholders participated in the one-day event, including governments, not-for-profit organizations, Aboriginal organizations, as well as industry and media representatives. The day provided an opportunity to put new ideas forward, discuss progress of initiatives underway, and connect sectors working toward common objectives.

2012 Video - Promoting Healthy Weights

In September 2012, Ministers of Health endorsed a video presentation on healthy weights. It was the first update to Ministers to be presented in this format (now featured in the 2013 e-Report). This video provides an overview of the issue and profiles a number of the important efforts by governments and various sectors that affect childhood obesity and healthy weights (e.g., promotion of physical activity and healthy eating).

Promoting Healthy Weights video (2012)

2013 e-Report on Healthy Weights

The 2013 Progress Report on Advancing the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Framework on Healthy Weights (Progress Report) was the first F/P/T interactive webpage of its kind used to provide an update on progress to Canadians. The Progress Report told the ongoing story of the collective actions governments and other sectors were taking to advance Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights.

2015 e-Report on Healthy Weights

The 2015 Progress e-Report on Advancing the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Framework on Healthy Weights (e-Report) is built on the same principles of the first progress e-Report published in 2013, and aims to highlight the same two key areas of interest: collective actions underway in all jurisdictions; and an update of the most recently available data/information on the confirmed national set of indicators. The e-Report tells the ongoing story of the collective actions governments and other sectors were taking to advance Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal, Provincial and Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights.

Message from Canada's Ministers of Health/Healthy Living and Sport, Physical Activity and Recreation (SPAR)

As Canada celebrates the 150th anniversary of Confederation, most Canadians are proud of the health of Canada’s population. Compared to other countries, Canada is faring well; Canadians are living longer than ever before. However, there are multiple ways that Canadians can aim to become healthier on a day-to-day basis. Healthy active living and the achievement of a healthy weight are critical for each of us, at all ages.

View More

On this occasion, we are pleased to present this third e-Report on Healthy Weights (www.towardsahealthiercanada.ca) to Canadians. The e-Report is an online, interactive webpage presented by federal, provincial and territorial governments in order to report on progress to advance Curbing Childhood Obesity: A Federal/Provincial/Territorial Framework for Action to Promote Healthy Weights (Framework).

This e-Report on Healthy Weights features childhood obesity trends over time. It reports on overall levels of overweight and obesity, as well as on the key factors associated with the achievement of a healthy weight, including physical activity, healthy eating and supportive environments.

It includes a focus on related health inequalities. Differences in health status are experienced by various individuals or groups in society. These can be the result of genetic and biological factors, choices made or by chance; often they are due to an unequal access to key factors that influence health like income, education, employment and social supports. It is important to look at the social and economic factors that influence our health and contribute to health inequalities. Important inequalities also exist among various populations, including First Nations people living off-reserve, Inuit and Métis populations.

Multi-sectoral partnerships remain a key focus of this work given that everyone and every sector has a role to play in promoting healthier living. That is why Canada’s Ministers of Health/Healthy Living and Sport, Physical Activity, and Recreation (SPAR) are working together to create the conditions that promote health and prevent illness, so that children, youth and their families and communities can enjoy good health for generations to come. In July 2017, SPAR Ministers acknowledged the importance of a common vision on physical activity for governments, organizations and leaders from across sectors to help ensure all Canadians are active and to reduce sedentary living. This is the culmination of strong collaboration between the SPAR and health/healthy living sectors, and further demonstrates the need for shared leadership at all levels. Make the most of your Canada 150 - move towards healthier living and take action with your family, friends and community.

Thank you.

Download/print the PDF version

Towards a Healthier Canada – Narrative

The e-Report highlights the most recently available data/information on a national set of indicators related to healthy weights and childhood obesity. Complementing the data tables and infographic, this narrative provides a snapshot of the current status on related issues (physical activity, healthy eating, supportive environments, and health inequalities) and explores possible trends in recent years, since the endorsement of the Framework in 2010.

View More

Download/print the PDF version

Indicators - tracking trends and gauging progress

Gathering information on the many factors that influence childhood obesity/healthy weights can help to inform and identify actions to support change.

In 2013, Federal, Provincial and Territorial governments and experts from across the country agreed on a set of national indicators to report on every two years. The indicators provide information on healthy weights, physical activity and healthy eating, as well as information on the physical and social environments in which children and families live, learn and play. The data presented in the 2017 e-Report represents the second update to the baseline data reported in 2013. The indicators presented in the 2017 e-Report apply to our population as a whole.

Indicators - reporting on health inequalities

Examining health equity and determinants of health is important to improve the health of the population and to ensure that the conditions that support health are distributed fairly.  F/P/T governments have incorporated a health inequality lens in this year’s e-Report (2017), which includes data on inequalities related to Healthy Weights.

Vers un Canada plus sain – Rapport d’étape 2017 sur la promotion du cadre fédéral, provincial et territorial sur le poids santé

Aperçu

Les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé, des Modes de vie sainNote de bas de page *, du Sport, de l’Activité physique et du Loisir sont fiers de vous présenter le troisième rapport électronique sur les progrès réalisés en matière de poids santé au Canada depuis l’adoption du cadre d’action Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé (le Cadre) en 2010. Ce rapport électronique, intitulé Vers un Canada plus sain –  Rapport d’étape 2017 sur la promotion du cadre fédéral, provincial et territorial sur le poids santé (Rapport électronique), s’appuie sur les principes du premier rapport d’étape électronique publié en 2013 dans la mesure où il vise à surveiller et à faire rapport sur les progrès réalisés depuis l’approbation du Cadre. Il fournit une mise à jour des données/renseignements les plus récents qui sont disponibles sur l’ensemble national confirmé d’indicateurs et les tendances de l’obésité juvénile depuis l’approbation du Cadre, dans la mesure du possible. Le Rapport électronique 2017 met également l’accent sur les inégalités en santé et présente un exposé qui sert de complément aux tableaux de données et aux résumés infographiques.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le Québec partage les objectifs généraux de ce cadre de travail, mais il ne souscrit pas à une stratégie pancanadienne dans un domaine qui relève de sa compétence. Le Québec demeure le seul responsable du développement, de la mise en œuvre, des communications des programmes de promotion des modes de vie sains sur son territoire. Toutefois, le Québec entend poursuivre l`échange d’informations et de meilleures pratiques avec les autres gouvernements au Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

Calendrier - Continuer sur cet élan

Avec l’approbation du Cadre en 2010, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux travaillent ensemble, et avec d’autres secteurs, pour favoriser la santé, diminuer les disparités et aider à réunir les conditions qui aideront les enfants, les jeunes et leur famille à adopter un mode de vie plus sain. Les étapes clés de ces efforts sont résumées dans le calendrier ci-dessous.

Adoption de la Déclaration sur la prévention et la promotion (Déclaration) :

Les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé, de la Promotion de la santé et des Modes de vie sains* ont adopté la Déclaration, une présentation de leur vision commune de travailler ensemble et avec d'autres intervenants à faire de la promotion de la santé et de la prévention des maladies, des incapacités et des blessures une priorité qui pousse à l'action.

Pour un Canada plus sain : faire de la prévention une priorité

Adoption du document Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé (Cadre) :

Les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé, de la Promotion de la santé et des Modes de vie sains* ont adopté le Cadre en tant que première mesure découlant de la Déclaration, faisant ainsi de l'obésité juvénile (et du poids santé) une priorité.

Freiner l'obésité juvénile : Cadre d'action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé

Adoption du document Mesures de suivi et orientations futures 2011 – Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé (Rapport) :

Le Rapport formule des recommandations et les principaux domaines d'intervention pour les gouvernements afin de favoriser l'atteinte du poids santé et de réduire l'obésité juvénile.

Mesures de suivi et orientations futures 2011

Adoption de la Déclaration et du Cadre par les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux chargés du sport, de l'activité physique et des loisirs :

En 2011, les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux chargés du sport, de l'activité physique et des loisirs* ont également adopté la Déclaration et le Cadre.

Sommet de 2012 sur le poids santé

Ce sommet avait pour but de réaliser les efforts nécessaires pour établir des partenariats entre tous les secteurs. Un total de 86 intervenants multisectoriels ont participé à cet événement qui a duré une journée, dont des représentants des gouvernements, d'organismes sans but lucratif, d'organisations autochtones, ainsi que de l'industrie et des médias. Ce fut l'occasion d'avancer de nouvelles idées, de discuter des progrès des initiatives en cours et de relier les secteurs œuvrant à l'atteinte d'objectifs communs.

2012 Vidéo - Promotion du poids santé

En septembre 2012, les ministres de la Santé ont approuvé une présentation vidéo sur le poids santé. Il s'agissait de la première mise à jour aux ministres à être présentée dans ce format (figure maintenant dans le rapport électronique de 2013). Cette vidéo donne un aperçu des problèmes éprouvés et présente certains des importants efforts réalisés par les gouvernements et les divers secteurs qui ont une incidence sur l'obésité juvénile et le poids santé (p. ex. promotion de l'activité physique et de bonnes habitudes alimentaires).

Promotion du poids santé video (2012)

2013 Rapport électronique sur le poids santé

Le Rapport d'étape 2013 sur la promotion du cadre fédéral, provincial et territorial sur le poids santé (rapport d'étape) était la première page Web interactive FPT en son genre utilisée pour fournir aux Canadiens une mise à jour sur les progrès réalisés. Ce rapport présentait l'historique des mesures collectives en cours prises par les gouvernements et les autres secteurs pour Freiner l'obésité juvénile : Cadre d'action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé.

Rapport électronique de 2015 sur le poids santé

Le rapport électronique intitulé Vers un Canada plus sain – Rapport d’étape électronique 2015 sur la promotion du cadre fédéral, provincial et territorial sur le poids santé est fondé sur les mêmes principes que le premier rapport d’étape électronique publié en 2013 et vise à mettre en relief les mêmes deux principaux domaines d’intérêt : les mesures collectives en cours dans l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires, et une mise à jour des données et des renseignements accessibles les plus récents sur l’ensemble des indicateurs nationaux confirmés. Ce rapport électronique présente l’historique des mesures collectives en cours prises par les gouvernements et les autres secteurs pour Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé.

Message des ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé et des Modes de vie sains ainsi que les ministres du Sport, de l’Activité physique et des Loisirs (SAPL)

Alors que le Canada célèbre le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, la plupart des Canadiens sont fiers de la santé de la population canadienne. Par rapport à d’autres pays, le Canada va bien; les Canadiens vivent plus longtemps que jamais. Cependant, il existe de multiples façons pour que les Canadiens puissent jouir d’une meilleure santé au jour le jour. Une vie active saine et la réalisation d’un poids santé sont essentielles pour chacun de nous, à tous les âges.

En savoir plus

À cette occasion, nous sommes heureux de présenter aux Canadiens ce troisième rapport électronique sur le poids santé (http://www.versuncanadaplussain.ca). Le rapport électronique est une page Web interactive présentée par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux afin de faire rapport sur les progrès réalisés dans la lutte pour Freiner l’obésité juvénile : Cadre d’action fédéral, provincial et territorial pour la promotion du poids santé (le Cadre FPT).

Ce rapport électronique sur le poids santé met l’accent sur les tendances dans le domaine de l’obésité juvénile au fil du temps. Il fait rapport sur les niveaux globaux de surpoids et d’obésité, ainsi que sur les facteurs clés associés à la réalisation d’un poids santé, qui comprennent l’activité physique, l’alimentation saine et les environnements favorables.

Il met également l’accent sur les inégalités en santé. Divers groupes ou personnes de la société font face à des écarts de santé. Ces écarts peuvent découler de facteurs génétiques et biologiques, de choix ou du hasard ; cependant, bien souvent, ils existent en raison d’un accès inéquitable à des facteurs clés qui influent sur la santé, comme le revenu, le niveau de scolarité, l’emploi et les mesures de soutien social. Il est important de se pencher sur les facteurs sociaux et économiques qui ont une incidence sur notre santé et contribuent aux inégalités en matière de santé. Des inégalités importantes existent également parmi les différentes populations, notamment les populations autochtones.

Les partenariats multisectoriels demeurent l’un des principaux axes de ce travail étant donné que chaque personne et chaque secteur a un rôle à jouer dans la promotion d’une vie plus saine. C’est la raison pour laquelle les ministres de la Santé et des Modes de vie sains de même que les ministres responsables du Sport, de l’activité physique et des loisirs (SAPL) du Canada collaborent afin de créer des conditions favorables à la santé et à la prévention des maladies, pour que les enfants, les jeunes et leurs familles, ainsi que les communautés, puissent être en bonne santé pour les années à venir.

En juillet 2017, les ministres responsables du Sport, de l’Activité physique et des Loisirs (SAPL) ont reconnu l’importance pour les gouvernements, les organisations et les dirigeants de tous les secteurs d’avoir une vision commune de l’activité physique, afin de s’assurer que tous les Canadiens sont actifs et ainsi de réduire la sédentarité. Cette publication constitue le point culminant d’une collaboration intense entre les secteurs du SAPL et les secteurs de la santé et des modes de vie sains, et elle démontre la nécessité d’un leadership partagé à tous les niveaux.

Profitez au maximum de votre Canada 150 — avancez vers une vie plus saine et agissez avec votre famille, vos amis et votre communauté.

Merci.

Télécharger/imprimer en format PDF

Vers un Canada plus sain – Exposé

Le rapport électronique met en lumière les données et renseignements les plus récents qui sont disponibles sur un ensemble national d’indicateurs liés au poids santé et à l’obésité juvénile. En complément des tableaux de données et des résumés infographiques, cet exposé fournit un aperçu de l’état actuel des questions connexes (activité physique, alimentation saine, environnements favorables et inégalités en santé) et explore les tendances possibles au cours des dernières années, depuis l’approbation du Cadre en 2010.

En savoir plus

Télécharger/imprimer en format PDF

Indicateurs – faire le suivi des tendances et mesurer les progrès

Réunir de l’information sur les nombreux facteurs qui influent sur l’obésité juvénile et sur le poids santé peut aider à informer et à trouver des moyens de faciliter le changement.

En 2013, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de même que des experts de partout au pays se sont entendus sur un ensemble d’indicateurs nationaux devant faire l’objet d’un rapport tous les deux ans. Ces indicateurs contiennent des informations sur le poids santé, l’activité physique et une saine alimentation ainsi que des renseignements sur les milieux physiques et sociaux dans lesquels vivent, s’instruisent et jouent les enfants et les familles. Les données que contient le rapport électronique de 2017 constituent la première mise à jour des données de référence rendues publiques en 2013. Les indicateurs présentés dans le Rapport 2017 ne s’appliquent qu’à l’ensemble de la population.

Indicateurs – faire rapport des inégalités en santé

Le travail relatif à l’équité en santé et aux déterminants de la santé est important pour améliorer la santé de la population et garantir que les conditions qui favorisent la santé sont réparties équitablement. Les gouvernements FPT ont intégré une lentille sur l’inégalité en santé au rapport électronique de cette année (2017), qui comprend des données sur les inégalités liées au poids santé.