Special Advisory Committee on COVID-19

The Pan-Canadian Public Health Network (PHN) mobilizes coordinated action and response efforts in times of an urgent health event of national concern. A Special Advisory Committee (SAC) is established to lead a pan-Canadian response across federal, provincial and territorial (FPT) governments in the event of such a public health crisis.

In January 2020, the co-chairs of the PHN Council established a FPT Special Advisory Committee on COVID-19 to advise the Conference of FPT Deputy Ministers of Health on the coordination, public health policy, and technical content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.

The SAC has representatives from several Government of Canada departments, as well as members of the Public Health Network Council and the Council of Chief Medical Officers of Health. Dr. Theresa Tam, Chief Public Health Officer of Canada, and Dr. Saqib Shahab, Chief Medical Health Officer, Saskatchewan co-chair the committee.

Several expert groups bring together senior FPT public health officials, experts and Indigenous organizations that support the SAC on COVID-19, including a:

  • Technical Advisory Committee
  • Logistics Advisory Committee
  • Public Health Network Communications Group
  • Public Health Working Group on Remote and Isolated Communities.

The SAC currently meets several times a week to discuss the coordination of FPT preparedness and response across Canada’s health systems.

SAC recommendations and guidance

Comité consultatif spécial sur la COVID-19

Le Réseau pancanadien de santé publique (RSP) mobilise des efforts coordonnés d’action et d’intervention en cas d’urgence sanitaire de portée nationale. Un Comité consultatif spécial (CCS) a été créé pour diriger une réponse pancanadienne au sein des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) dans l’éventualité d’une telle crise de santé publique.

En janvier 2020, les coprésidents du Conseil du RSP ont créé le Comité consultatif spécial FPT sur la COVID-19 chargé de conseiller la Conférence des sous-ministres FPT de la Santé sur la coordination, la politique de santé publique et le contenu technique liés à l’éclosion de COVID‑19.

Le CCS est composé de représentants de plusieurs ministères du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que de membres du Conseil du réseau de santé publique et du Conseil des médecins hygiénistes en chef. La Dre Theresa Tam, administratrice en chef de la santé publique, et le Dr Saqib Shahab, médecin hygiéniste en chef de la Saskatchewan, coprésident ce comité.

Plusieurs groupes d’experts réunissent de hauts fonctionnaires FPT de la santé publique, des experts et des organisations autochtones pour appuyer le CCS sur la COVID-19, notamment :

  • le Comité consultatif technique
  • le Comité consultatif de la logistique
  • le Groupe de communications du Réseau de santé publique
  • le Groupe de travail sur la santé publique dans les collectivités éloignées et isolées

À l’heure actuelle, le CCS se réunit quelques fois par semaine pour discuter des activités de coordination de la préparation et des interventions fédérales, provinciales et territoriales dans l’ensemble des systèmes de santé du Canada.

Recommandations et conseils du CCS