Guidance for Tuberculosis Prevention and Control Programs in Canada

For readers interested in the full version of this report, the document is available for downloading or viewing:
Guidance for Tuberculosis Prevention and Control Programs in Canada
(PDF Version, 884 KB, 69 Pages)

Preface

Drawing extensively from the work of tuberculosis (TB) experts across the country, Guidance for Tuberculosis Prevention and Control Programs in Canada represents an important step forward in our efforts to reduce the burden of TB in Canada. It offers stakeholders a modern, evidence-based approach to TB prevention and control that respects and responds to jurisdictional roles and responsibilities. As a compendium of best practices, it also serves as an important resource for frontline public health practitioners working to decrease the incidence and prevalence of TB within populations most at risk.

The major intent of this guidance document is to inform ongoing program delivery and development by providing decision-makers, health care providers and program planners with information on all aspects of TB prevention and control. It complements and aligns with the Canadian Tuberculosis Standards and Health Canada’s Strategy Against Tuberculosis for First Nations On-Reserve and, as such, will figure as a key component in a future Canadian framework for action on TB.

The best practices articulated in Guidance for Tuberculosis Prevention and Control Programs in Canada reflect the knowledge and expertise Canada has acquired over decades of involvement in the fight against TB. It is our hope that all stakeholders – whether service providers, policy makers or laboratory scientists – can apply the se best practices to their work on behalf of all Canadians.

Dr. David Butler-Jones,
Chief Public Health Officer of Canada
Federal Co-Chair, Public Health Network Council

Dr. André Corriveau,
Chief Medical Health Officer, Northwest Territories
Provincial/Territorial Co-Chair, Public Health Network Council

Acknowledgements

We would like to acknowledge the contributions of the following groups and individuals:

  • Members of the former Canadian Tuberculosis Committee members, including Ruth Anne Appl, Cheryl Case, Alexander Doroshenko, Edward Ellis, Kevin Elwood, Danielle Grondin, Elaine Holmes, Frances Jamieson, Klaus Jochem, (ex-officio), Joel Kettner, Richard Long, Sylvie Martin (ex-of ficio), Dick Menzies, Heather Morrison, Pamela Orr, Linda Panaro, Linda Poffenroth, Elaine Randell, Elizabeth Rea, Paul Rivest, Beth Roberts, George Samuel, Derek Scholten (ex-officio), Debbie Smith, Geetika Verma, Wendy Wobeser, Joyce Wolfe and Marion Yetman.
  • The Communicable and Infectious Disease Steering Committee, co-chaired by Horacio Arruda and Rainer Engelhardt.
  • The many individuals with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Health Canada who collaborated with us on this publication. Special thanks to Chris Archibald, Jocelyne Courtemanche, Howard Njoo, Carolyn Pim and Tom Wong.

Table of Contents

Executive Summary

Part I - Background

  • The global context of TB
  • TB in Canada
  • Overall goals for Canada

Part II - Optimizing Current Tuberculosis Prevention and Control Efforts

  1. The TB program
  2. Management of active TB disease
  3. Contact tracing and outbreak investigation
  4. Screening
  5. Surveillance and data management
  6. TB laboratory services
  7. Education and professional practice
    1. Health care provider education
    2. Professional practice
  8. Community-based awareness
  9. Monitoring and evaluation
  10. High-risk populations and settings
    1. First Nations, Inuit and Métis
    2. Migrants from countries with high TB incidence
    3. The homeless and underhoused
    4. Institutional settings
  11. Strategies to address emerging issues
    1. TB and HIV co-infection
    2. Drug-resistant TB
  12. Social and other determinants of health related to TB
  13. Research

Part III - Responsibilities, Partnerships and Linkages

  • Federal
  • Provincial/territorial/municipal
  • Academic and health sectors
  • Partnerships and linkages

Part IV - International Collaboration

Conclusion

Appendices

  • Appendix I – Definition of terms and abbreviations
  • Appendix II – Epidemiology of TB in Canada
  • Appendix III – Legislation with application to TB prevention and control
  • Appendix IV – Potential TB program objectives and performance targets
  • Appendix V – Related documents and resources

References

Executive Summary

Tuberculosis (TB) remains an important and serious global public health challenge that requires coordinated international and national prevention and control efforts. Although the incidence of TB in Canada is low and the disease is no longer common in the general population, TB remains a serious problem in certain sub-populations, such as First Nations and Inuit, persons living in Canada who have arrived from regions of the world with a high incidence of TB and those with other health problems like HIV/AIDS. The many and varied conditions in which Canadians live mean that the risks and impacts of TB are not uniformly distributed within our boundaries. There is a pressing need to better understand and target groups at increased risk, and tailor prevention and control efforts to meet their specific needs. In addition, resistance to some of the drugs used to treat TB is a growing problem in some countries. In a globalized, interconnected world the implications of drug-resistant strains are a concern for all nations.

Dealing with these issues in the Canadian context requires a modern, evidence-based approach that recognizes and mitigates both global and domestic influences. TB control is a shared responsibility among individuals, communities, governments and civil society. In response to the continuing presence of TB in Canada and the ongoing challenges in its prevention and control, the current document provides a framework and guidance for optimal TB control, through the adoption of best practices aimed at reducing the disease nationally and internationally.

The expectation is that a pan-Canadian approach to TB prevention and control will result in more highly coordinated, multisectoral action in addressing TB, while at the same time recognizing provincial and territorial responsibilities for the delivery of health services.

The existence of comprehensive Canadian objectives supports federal, provincial/territorial and local prevention and control efforts. The objectives, approaches and best practices outlined in this guidance document are consistent with internationally agreed upon targets and program components.

With an overarching goal of reducing the national incidence rate of reported TB in Canada to 3.6 per 100,000 or less by 2015, the principal activities are:

  • Timely diagnosis and treatment of active cases, with special attention paid to HIV co-infection and drug-resistant cases
  • Contact tracing and management of those found to have active TB disease or latent TB infection (LTBI)
  • Screening and treatment of LTBI in high-risk populations
  • Primary prevention aimed at stopping the cycle of transmission, in part through effective partnerships and interventions to address the social and other determinants of health

These activities must be supported by appropriate legislation and policy; strong laboratory services; public health surveillance; monitoring and evaluation; TB-related research; and adequately trained health professionals.

Many of the best practices described in this document are already in place in most provinces and territories. However, other best practices are not universally implemented; consequently, there remains a need to stimulate action towards improvements in TB-related services. For effective TB prevention and control, evidence points to the fact that all key components should be coordinated through an organized TB program.

Orientations pour les programmes de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose au Canada

Les lecteurs qui désirent consulter le rapport complet peuvent le télécharger ou le visualiser :
Orientations pour les programmes de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose au Canada
(version PDF, 908 kb, 75 pages)

Préface

Le document Orientations pour les programmes de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose au Canada s'inspire grandement des travaux d'experts canadiens dans le domaine de la tuberculose et apporte une contribution importante à nos efforts en vue de réduire le fardeau de la tuberculose au pays. Il présente aux intervenants une approche moderne et factuelle de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose qui respecte les rôles et les responsabilités des administrations tout en prenant des mesures à leur égard. À titre de compendium des pratiques exemplaires, ce document représente également une ressource importante pour les praticiens de la santé publique de première ligne qui travaillent à la réduction de l'incidence et de la prévalence de la tuberculose dans les populations les plus à risque.

L'objectif principal du document d'orientation est de servir de base à l'élaboration et à la prestation de programme en donnant aux décideurs, aux fournisseurs de soins et aux planificateurs de programme de l'information sur tous les aspects relatifs à la prévention et au contrôle de la tuberculose. Ce document complète les Normes canadiennes pour la lutte antituberculeuse et la Stratégie de lutte contre la tuberculose de Santé Canada pour les membres des Premières nations vivant dans les réserves, tout en s'y conformant. À ce titre, ce document constituera une composante clé d'un prochain cadre canadien pour la lutte contre la tuberculose.

Les pratiques exemplaires décrites dans le document Orientations pour les programmes de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose au Canada rendent compte des connaissances et des compétences acquises au cours de décennies d'efforts pour contrer la tuberculose. Nous espérons que tous les intervenants – fournisseurs de services, responsables des politiques ou scientifiques travaillant en laboratoire – pourront appliquer ces pratiques exemplaires dans leurs activités au nom de tous les Canadiens.

Dr David Butler-Jones,
Administrateur en chef de la santé publique du Canada
Coprésident fédéral du Conseil du Réseau de santé publique

André Corriveau,
Médecin hygiéniste en chef des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Coprésident provincial/territoire du Conseil du Réseau de santé publique

Remerciements

Nous voudrions souligner la contribution des organisations et personnes suivantes :

  • Les membres de l'ancien Comité canadien de lutte antituberculeuse, surtout Ruth Anne Appl, Cheryl Case, Alexander Doroshenko, Edward Ellis, Kevin Elwood, Danielle Grondin, Elaine Holmes, Frances Jamieson, Klaus Jochem, (ex-officio), Joel Kettner, Richard Long, Sylvie Martin (ex-officio), Dick Menzies, Heather Morrison, Pamela Orr, Linda Panaro, Linda Poffenroth, Elaine Randell, Elizabeth Rea, Paul Rivest, Beth Roberts, George Samuel, Derek Scholten (ex-officio), Debbie Smith, Geetika Verma, Wendy Wobeser, Joyce Wolfe et Marion Yetman.
  • Le Comité directeur sur les maladies transmissibles et infectieuses, dont les co-présidents sont Horacio Arruda et Rainer Engelhardt.
  • Les nombreuses personnes qui travaillent au sein de l'Agence publique du Canada et de Santé Canada et qui ont collaboré au présent document. Nous aimerions adresser des remerciements tout particuliers à Chris Archibald, Jocelyne Courtemanche, Howard Njoo, Carolyn Pim et Tom Wong.

Table des matières

Sommaire

Partie I - Contexte

  • La tuberculose dans le monde
  • La tuberculose au Canada
  • Objectifs généraux du Canada

Partie II - Amélioration des efforts actuels de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose

  1. Le programme de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose
  2. Prise en charge de la tuberculose active
  3. Recherche des contacts et enquête sur une éclosion
  4. Dépistage
  5. Surveillance et gestion des données
  6. Services de laboratoire pour la tuberculose
  7. Éducation et pratique professionnelle
    1. Éducation des professionnels de la santé
    2. Pratique professionnelle
  8. Sensibilisation communautaire
  9. Surveillance et évaluation
  10. Populations et milieux à risque élevé
    1. Premières nations, Inuits et Métis
    2. Migrants provenant de pays où l'incidence de la tuberculose est élevée
    3. Les sans-abri et les mal-logés
    4. Établissements
  11. Approches pour s'attaquer aux problèmes émergents
    1. Tuberculose et co-infection par le VIH
    2. Tuberculose pharmacorésistante
  12. Déterminants sociaux et autres déterminants de la santé liés à la tuberculose
  13. Recherche

Partie III - Responsabilités, partenariats et liens

  • Gouvernement fédéral
  • Administrations provinciales/territoriales/municipales
  • Secteurs universitaire et de la santé
  • Partenariats et liens

Partie IV - Collaboration internationale

Conclusion

Annexes

  • Annexe I – Définition des termes et abréviations
  • Annexe II – Épidémiologie de la tuberculose au Canada
  • Annexe III – Textes de loi s'appliquant à la prévention et au contrôle de la tuberculose
  • Annexe IV – Objectifs et cibles de performance potentiels pour les programmes de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose
  • Annexe V – Documents et ressources connexes

Références

Sommaire

La tuberculose demeure un important problème de santé publique à l'échelle mondiale, qui requiert des efforts concertés de prévention et de contrôle sur le plan tant national qu'international. Bien que l'incidence de la tuber culose au Canada soit faible et que la maladie ne soit plus répandue dans la population générale, elle continue de poser un grave problème dans certaines sous-populations, comme les Premières nations et les Inuits, les résidents du Canada qui proviennent de régions du monde où l'incidence de la tuberculose est élevée et les personnes qui sont aux prises avec d'autres problèmes de santé comme l'infection à VIH ou le sida. Comme les conditions de vie des Canadiens varient énormément, les risques et les répercussions de la tuberculose ne sont pas répartis de façon égale sur le territoire canadien. Il est urgent de mieux comprendre et de mieux cibler les groupes à plus haut risque et d'adapter les efforts de prévention et de contrôle à leurs besoins particuliers. En outre, la résistance à certains des médicaments utilisés pour traiter la tuberculose est de plus en plus répandue dans certains pays. En cette ère de mondialisation et d'interrelations, la pharmacorésistance de certaines souches est un enjeu dont se préoccupent tous les pays.

Pour pouvoir s'attaquer à ces questions en tenant compte du contexte canadien, il faut disposer d'une approche moderne et factuelle qui reconnaît et atténue l'effet des facteurs tant internationaux que nationaux. Le contrôle de la tuberculose est une responsabilité que partagent les particuliers, les collectivités, les gouvernements et la société civile. Comme la tuberculose est toujours présente au Canada et comme il faudra poursuivre nos efforts de prévention et de contrôle, le présent document fournit un cadre et une orientation pour contrôler le mieux possible la tuberculose, en adoptant des pratiques exemplaires qui visent à réduire cette maladie à l'échelle nationale et internationale.

Nous espérons qu'une approche pancanadienne de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose favorisera une action multisectorielle mieux coordonnée pour lutter contre la tuberculose, tout en tenant compte des responsabilités provinciales et territoriales au chapitre des services de santé.

Les objectifs d'ensemble fixés par le Canada viennent étayer les efforts de prévention et de contrôle déployés sur les plans fédéral, provincial/territorial et local. Les objectifs, les approches et les pratiques exemplaires décrits dans le présent document concordent avec les cibles et les éléments de programme adoptés à l'échelle internationale.

Voici les principales activités qui seront entreprises dans le but général de réduire le taux national d'incidence déclarée de la tuberculose au Canada à 3,6 pour 100 000 habitants ou moins d'ici 2015 :

  • Diagnostic et traitement rapides des cas actifs, une attention particulière étant portée aux cas de co-infection par le VIH et de pharmacorésistance;
  • Recherche des contacts et prise en charge de ceux qui sont atteints d'une maladie active ou d'une infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL);
  • Dépistage et traitement de l'infection tuberculeuse latente dans les populations à risque élevé;
  • Prévention primaire visant à enrayer le cycle de transmission, notamment par des partenariats et des interventions efficaces qui s'attaquent aux déterminants sociaux et autres déterminants de la santé.

Ces activités doivent s'appuyer sur des textes de loi et des politiques adéquates, sur des services de laboratoire solides, sur une surveillance de la santé publique, sur un contrôle et une évaluation, sur des recherches sur la tuberculose et sur les services de professionnels de la santé dûment formés.

Bon nombre des pratiques exemplaires décrites dans le présent document ont déjà cours dans la plupart des provinces et territoires. D'autres pratiques exemplaires ne sont toutefois pas universellement appliquées; il est donc toujours nécessaire de stimuler les efforts en vue d'améliorer les services dans le domaine de la tuberculose. Pour que la prévention et le contrôle de la tuberculose soit efficace, tous les éléments clés doivent être coordonnés à l'intérieur d'un programme organisé de prévention et de contrôle de la tuberculose.